Michael Ealy Goes from Pretty Boy to Crazy [INTERVIEW with Raqiyah Mays]

Michael Ealy for blog

One of the most despicable characters on TV right now is played by actor Michael Ealy. He drugged his kids, leaving them stiff on the bed for dead. He tied up his wife, leaving her weeping for understanding. “Why are you doing this?” she asks, crying in one scene. Ealy blinks his trademark blue eyes before giving an understanding grin and answering, “Because they found me. And I can’t play house with you anymore.”

The irony comes in seeing this role performed by an actor many have never known to play deranged. Typically, eternally cast as the love interest, we’ve found Ealy gently kissing and caressing everyone from Halle Berry in Their Eyes Were Watching God to Joy Bryant in About Last Night. But television has allowed us to witness a glimpse of Ealy’s range.

Appearing in reoccurring roles on The Good Wife, Californication and Common Law, Michael Ealy’s memorable TV characters have been the most unlikely. As a terrorist on Showtime’s Sleeper Cell, his portrayal of Muslim Darwyn al-Sayeed gained critical acclaim. And as the robot Dorian on Fox’s short-lived sci-fi show Almost Human, Ealy showed that contrary to current statistics, Black men do exist in the far away future.

“I tend to look for roles that have impact. I’ve paid my dues early on, where I was just happy to be in the movie. And at this point in my career, I need to have impact in my story,” says Ealy, whose upcoming film The Perfect Guy has him playing an obsessed lover opposite Sanaa Lathan. “I need to be focused, because that’s the only way I can impact film. So to be able to come into this show and be the new big bad villain, that was impactful.”

TO READ MORE GO TO EBONY.COM

One Response to “Michael Ealy Goes from Pretty Boy to Crazy [INTERVIEW with Raqiyah Mays]”

  1. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance”
    between usability and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done
    a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads
    super fast for me on Safari. Outstanding Blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

