Internet & Speed Dating is for the Birds

Listening to everyone talk about friends flocking to internet and speed dating makes me a cynic. Perhaps it’s because, I’m still living in the past. Living for the days of sitting on the train and attracting the eye of a cutey who squeezes his way through a packed subway car to find and talk to me. That’s what I like. Romance by chance. Not to say that slipping on stilettos, a slinky dress, and leaving the hat at home isn’t a technique to attract glances. It is. I just don’t believe in looking, preferring to put my money on waiting. Waiting on the energy you put out saying you’re ready for a relationship. Waiting on the powers that be to manifest wishes blown into the air during a daily walk of faith.

Maybe I watch too much CNN – seeing stories about the Craig’s List serial killer. Maybe I’m too dramatic, making up horror scenes in my head about the guy who sends witty, romantic emails by day. And at night he’s a Hannibal Lecter groupie wanting to eat female skin with a side of Fava beans.

We know speeding through a meal is bad for your health. But speeding through dating is just plain careless. I mean, I can have a conversation with anyone – from the drunken crack head holding up the bus stop to the egotistical Wall Street broker. But a five minute quick convo doesn’t give me comfort in assuring a great date or potential partner.

Call me a romantic. I just believe that finding the one is about the vibe you put out and timing. You attract what you are and who you subconsciously expect. Everything happens for a reason. And if you have faith, get your life right, and patiently put the confident, positive energy out into the universe that says, “I’m ready to meet someone.” You will. It’s just a matter of time. No internet site or bar lounge speed dating gimmick can have power over that.

2 Responses to “Internet & Speed Dating is for the Birds”

  1. I don’t think it will go away anytime soon.

    Like

  2. let the church say yeahhhhhhh….ditto and amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

